I Wasn’t Born A Smoker

I Wasn’t Born A Smoker

When I was thinking of or actually trying to quit smoking cigarettes I was always thinking that this is hard to do or this is impossible to do. One truth that I kept returning to and gave me comfort was the thought that “I Wasn’t Born A Smoker”.

I smoked cigarettes for so long that I had a hard time visualizing myself being a non-smoker. If I could not visualize myself being a non-smoker, it was unlikely that I would achieve my goal of becoming a non-smoker. So along with other positive thoughts to help me quit smoking I kept referencing the fact that I wasn’t born a smoker.

I wasn’t born a smoker – what a beautiful thought. If I wasn’t born a smoker and I was smoke-free for a large part of my life then was I a smoker or someone who smoked cigarettes? I then proclaimed that I was born a non-smoker and that I will return to being a non-smoker. These thoughts along with other positive thoughts, and a lot of hard work, has brought me to the point were I can proudly say. I am a non-smoker — I am smoke-free.

*

**

***

~ JB ~


Digg!

Bookmark and Share

AddThis Feed Button

JB’s Weblog

_________________________________________

2 Responses

  1. Great post John,
    I guess everyone has to find something that rings true to them like you did. I hope it feeds the fire in other people’s lives to help them quit.

  2. Thank you Ray Mannion for the compliment. I am glad if I could be of service to someone who is trying to quit smoking.
    ~ JB ~

Leave a Reply

